A Brilliant Idea

Oh. My. Gosh. It has been one of those weeks. Do you ever have those? When everything happens at once and it just seems to zap the life out of you? I’ve felt like I have been moving through jello all week; until today. For some reason I woke up this morning and felt fabulous! Perhaps it has something to do with the 9 hours of sleep I got last night (right!?!), or the two cups of coffee this morning- but I’ve been clipping all day. I’ve been getting things done!

I’ve even had enough energy to deal with Little Miss wanting me to read every label on every one of her chapsticks, smell them, and then comment on how great they look on her. She just had a birthday and it seems everyone had the same idea to get her brightly colored, sparkly, sugary smelling chapsticks (including myself). I know I’ve been beating myself up over it every since. :-p

So in my rush of energy today- I had an idea. A brilliant idea. An absolutely awesome, brilliant idea. I’ve heard a bit about these kid “book clubs” where you pay for a subscription and this company sends you a book with directions and materials for activities. And I thought- I could do that! I mean, not start my own company, but start a junior book club.

courtesy of swiss-miss.com

I was hashing out the idea with a nanny friend at the park this morning and this is what I came up with.

Meet once a month on a predetermined day (say 3rd Friday at 2pm, or 1st Tuesday at 11am). Each month has a theme. I figured it would be pretty hard for all the parents to get their hands on the same book each month, and seeing as this is for preshoolers (ie picture books) we could probably handle more then one book a month. So! And here’s the brilliant part- there is no book that each family has to read. Instead, everyone reads as many books as they can on a particular topic- then we gather and discuss our favorites. I figured we could also create a list of our favorite books as an ongoing resource for each other.

Each discussion would follow with a craft and activity determined and supplied by the facilitator (determined by whose house we are meeting at).

And that’s it! It gets the kids reading, socializing, discussing, and doing something with Mom, Dad, Nanny, Grandma, etc.

Pretty darn brilliant if I do say so myself.

We have our first meeting set for the end of this month- and our theme is Apples.Yay!

courtesy of wikipedia.com

I found some great books at the library today and will also be hunting through Baby and Little Miss’ books to see what they have already. I’m going to invite each child to bring their favorite apple and we are going to graph them by color together. We are also going to make apple trees from their handprints and using apples as “stamps”. I’ll make sure to take lots of pictures from our first “meeting” to show you all.

I’m so excited!

courtesy of cartoonstock.com

