My summer breakfast

As I promised earlier, I want to share with you some great, easy, quick breakfasts for all those days when you are on the run, which is always.

Today I’m going to share with you my favorite summer breakfast. I know I know, it’s September and I’ve been trying to pretend it’s fall. But in all honesty, it’s going to be 90° today so … summer breakfast is what you get.

I present to you- the almighty smoothie. Ok so I’m not reinventing the wheel or anything but I want to share how I do it.

I like to go to the farmers market every weekend and it always happens that I get more then I can finish. When I realize any fruit is getting past it’s prime, I freeze it. Chop it, lay it in a single layer on a cookie sheet, and stick in the freezer. Once it’s frozen, I place it in a ziploc.

image

I use the frozen fruit in place of ice cubes for my smoothie. Then all I add is yogurt, toss in a blender, and voila! An almost instant breakfast full of protein, vitamins, minerals, and fiber.  Awesome!

I choose to use plain yogurt to cut down on the sugar, but if you prefer vanilla is also a great go-to flavor. Also, because I don’t use any liquid I do not use Greek yogurt. It tends to be too thick.

 

I love that depending on the day and what fruit I have on hand, my smoothie is always different. Right now I’m using a lot of peaches and strawberries, but just month ago I was devouring lots of blueberries. Next month it will be something completely different. It keeps things interesting.

Oo, and one more tip! You know when bananas start to go brown and go on sale? Grab them, peel them, and freeze those for smoothies too. I love to save a buck! 🙂

Cheers!

