Instant oatmeal

So when Mr. Right and I first moved in together, his mother bestowed upon us several boxes of snack sized ziplocs. I’ve always felt guilty about it because I’ve never really had a purpose for them. That is, until today.

Now that the weather is starting to cool down, I’m much more in the mood for a warm hearty breakfast. Enter- oatmeal.

And can I just say I never really appreciated oatmeal until I became an adult. I don’t know why. It can be topped with everything from fruit to nuts to chocolate. It’s filling. It’s creamy and just plain delicious.
But honestly, on a Monday morning I’m really not in the mood to stand over the stove stirring oatmeal.

That is why I was so excited to see a ton of homemade instant oatmeal ideas floating all over pinterest.
So yesterday I finally came up with a use for all those teeny tiny ziplocs- my own instant oatmeal!

image

Here’s what I used.
1/2 cup instant oats
1/4 tsp salt
1 Tbsp brown sugar
A good shake of cinnamon
Small handful of craisins (optional)

Other add-in ideas include any other dried fruit, nuts, chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, coconut, etc. There really are no limits.

image

Several recipes I saw included powdered milk. I decided just to omit that and use milk when I microwave it- it’s turned out just fine, and I feel like it ends up creamier.

To cook, just pour your little baggie in a bowl, add enough milk to soak oats and “nuke” for 2 min. (obviously all microwaves are different, so times can vary).

image

Tada! Oatmeal! And its so easy and so delicious.

A great, quick, healthy, whole food breakfast. Love it!

Cheers! xoxo

