Apples apples apples

I love fall. I mean really love. I mean really really truly absolutely positively love. I grew up in the Midwest where fall meant cooler weather, crunchy leaves, snuggly sweaters and roaring fires. It was magical. Fall also meant the return of baking, warm spices, and a hot oven… oh I’m getting hungry just thinking of it.

Here in the Land of the Sun, it’s officially Autumn but sure doesn’t feel like it. We’ve had our 21st day of over 90° weather this month alone (that’s 21 out of 26 days people, CRAZY!).

But that has never stopped me before, and my Midwest roots are calling!

So here’s to Autumn and homemade applesauce!

I made a batch with Little Miss yesterday and everyone’s been devouring it. In fact we are going to have to make more soon.

Here’s my easy recipe…  and let me just say I’m not one for being super exact so feel free to tweak depending on your taste preferences.

8 apples, washed and cut
A splash of lemon juice
1 cup water (could use apple juice)
Tbsp cinnamon
Tsp clove
1/4 brown sugar (amount is very dependant on the type of apple you use).

Place all ingredients in a medium sauce pan, cover (crack lid) and set on medium high. Once contents boil, reduce to low, and wait; stirring as needed. BONUS, your house will smell deliciously like autumn.

Once completely soft and mushy use an immersion blender to blend up apples till all the pulp and skin are well blended. If you want to skip this step or prefer a chunkier apple sauce you will need to peel apples before cooking.

image

This recipe is easy to multiply, convert to a slow cooker, and/or use the same process for other fruits such as pears, peaches, plums, strawberries, etc. How great would it be to combine fruits? Yum! I may have to try that soon. 🙂

I love fall! Have I said that already?

