Sugar high!

I have to say, as much as I’m trying to obstain from sweets… it really isn’t the holiday season without doing some form of baking. Yesterday my mom and I had our annual cookie baking extravaganza! We bake gobs of cookies, sing along to Christmas music, and watch Christmas movies that we’ve completely memorized. I love it. It’s one of my favorite parts of the whole season, heck, the whole year!

Poor Mr. Right got stuck in the middle of it. He and Rocky-the- wonderdog watched football in the other room. Of course they had to come and taste test everything. 🙂 Hard life, huh?

Here’s Mom and I with just some our “load”.

image

I also mixed a batch of sugar cookie dough to bring to the girls today. I baked them off this morning and Little Miss and I decorated them all after lunch. It was a lot of cookies, and I only made half the batch!

image

You can find the recipe I used here.

So good! I made her simple cookie glaze too and put it in squeeze bottles for easy decorating for the girls.

I had so much fun sharing my love of baking during the holidays with Little Miss and Baby Miss. It was great to one day enjoy a yearly tradition with my mom, and the next see that same tradition afresh through youthful eyes.

I can’t wait till I have my own kids that can join me and my mother, covered in flour, singing super loudly, and giggling uncontrollably!

What’s your favorite family holiday tradition?

Love!

4 thoughts on “Sugar high!

    • They loved them! Though Baby Miss got terribly upset that I made her wait all morning till her sister got home to eat them. 🙂

    • That’s hilarious Traci!
      I watched Rudolph with the girls last Friday and it was amazing to watch their reactions to it. I know every “inch” of that movie and to see them laugh at all the funny parts, and Baby Miss saying “uh oh” to the abominable snowman; I was grinning from ear to ear.
      I love how movies can bring everyone together like that. So much fun! 🙂

Comments are closed.