Snow, Snow, Snow, Snow, Snow!!! (In my best White Christmas rendition)

For some reason today, my mind has been very “snow” focused. I have no idea why. It’s not like we get snow here, in sunny California, but apparently my mind didn’t care.

It all started when I took Baby Miss to ArtBeast this morning. ArtBeast is a FABULOUS kid’s art studio that we try to go to at least once a week. We participated in their toddler story and art time this morning. The craft was to use painter’s tape and create letters or shapes on a canvas. Then the little ones sponge painted over it. When the paint dries, you peel the tape off and voila!, a beautiful piece of art.

I decided to make a snowflake on Baby Miss’ canvas. She covered it in blue and purple paint and once dry, we peeled the tape off. It came out super cute! It’s now hanging on the wall and she’s getting a kick out of seeing her art up there. Love it!
image

Next, on the way home from preschool today, Little Miss asked, “Are we going to do anything fun today?”. To which I quickly responded, “Of course not, we never do anything fun”.

She did not find the hilarity in my sarcasm. 🙂

I had been trying to think of something all morning to do with Little Miss when she got home from school, and I finally remembered a  “snow” paint recipe I saw on Pinterest. It looked easy, and lots of FUN. All it needed was shaving cream and white glue (the glue is supposed to help it dry puffy). I added some tempura paint too, for color.
image

Little Miss loved it! She thought it was hilarious how the paint stood up. I had a bowl for each color and a big stack of construction paper and gave her free reign. It was neat to be able to create a somewhat 3D picture. I think they turned out pretty cute. What do you think?
image

And you know what? There is even enough shaving cream left over to have some really fun sensory play with Baby Miss tomorrow. Oh boy I’m excited!

Lastly, during Baby Miss’ nap, I created these “counting snowmen”. She has started to mimic her sister’s counting, so I thought, why not put that to good use and teach her some numbers. I wrote a number on the bottom of the snowmen and put that number of buttons down his front. They turned out adorable!
Now she can count the buttons, and see the corresponding number. We can even work on sequencing the numbers once she gets the hang of it. Yay!
image

What will my obsession be tomorrow? Lord only knows. 🙂

Love!

