Small Change Saturday: Week 1

Hello all!

As promised, each week I will be offering you a small change. Hopefully, by the end of the year, all of these small changes will add up to a huge difference in our health, happiness, and wellbeing. Sounds like fun huh? 🙂

The first small change is (drumroll please….)

Flossing.

I know I know, not that exciting.

And personally, I really don’t like to floss. It’s uncomfortable, it’s an extra 5 minutes between me and my bed, and it’s not exactly  immediately gratifying.

But, the more I research flossing, the more I realize how absolutely important it is.

We all know that brushing is necessary, but toothbrushes are only meant to clean the tops, bottoms, and sides of our teeth. But what about in between? Think about everything you eat, and all that food that gets stuck in your teeth. Without flossing, that food can stay stuck in your teeth, start to rot, and lead to gum disease, tartar buildup, bad breath, and expensive procedures.

Plus it’s not just about your teeth.

Did you know that without flossing, bacteria can flourish which studies have shown can lead to whole body diseases such as heart disease, diabetes, and respiratory illnesses?

So as much as I don’t like flossing, it really is necessary. Make it a habit, and in a few months it will feel like no big deal.

I recommend flossing before bed so that there are no food particles in your teeth overnight.

Follow up with mouthwash, and you’re golden. 🙂

Love!

