Fit Friday: Go-to Snacks

Well, my computer is working… kinda… kinda not. I have a new battery and charger, but it still shuts down on me randomly. Frustrating, but currently it’s on, so I’m going with it.

I wanted to share with you my top 5 go-to snack foods. These are items I always have ready to go in my house for all those times when I just need something… like RIGHT NOW.

So here ya go, my 5 foods you should have in your kitchen always.

1) Hard-boiled eggs

Eggs are fabulous. Eggs fill you up. They are high in protein to keep you full for a while but they can also be a pain to cook if you should have been out the door 5 minutes ago. I usually get 2 dozen eggs when I go grocery shopping; 1 to cook with and 1 for hard-boiling. That way I have all set a super easy breakfast, or snack, or lunch. Have a few minutes? Chop them up, mix in an avocado, add some lemon juice, salt and pepper and you have a delicious egg salad. Or try on top of a salad. Either way, hard-boiled eggs are indispensable in my house.

slashfood.com

slashfood.com

2) Trail-mix

Trail mix is one of those foods I’ve always adored, since I was a kid…. then again, when I was a kid I usually just ate all the  M&M’s, but still, I love it. And it’s super easy and extremely versatile. Plus, it’s almost always paleo. I like to keep a large container all ready to go in my pantry. As it starts to empty, I can add new ingredients so it’s ever changing. I start with nuts of any type (just not peanuts), add dried fruit (no added sugar), unsweetened coconut, dark chocolate chips; the possibilities are endless. Toss a handful in a ziploc and put in your purse for anytime that you feel your blood sugar dropping; or munch on some after a tough workout- your body will thank you for it.

guiltykitchen.com

guiltykitchen.com

3) Veggies veggies and more veggies

I like to keep a good sized gladware container full of ready to go chopped up veggies in my fridge at all times. It makes everything from snack time to dinner prep easier. I try to keep the veggies organic and seasonal, but usually there are carrots, celery, sugar snap peas, mushrooms, etc. It’s easy to grab a handful with some dressing to add to my lunch. A little dicing and they are set for my morning omelette, or a quick saute and they can be added to dinner. I prep a bunch on the weekend so I’m all ready to go throughout the week.

bilo-supermarket.com

bilo-supermarket.com

4) Plain cooked chicken

Chicken is one of those foods that can be used for just about any meal at any time of day. It makes the week run a whole lot smoother if I have several chicken breasts precooked from the weekend ready for whatever and whenever. I can shred it, add some salsa, and wrap it in a lettuce cup for lunch. I can add it on top of a salad. I can toss it in a stir fry. Really, it can go just about anywhere. And since Paleo doesn’t bode well with “fast food” or those frozen meals from the grocery store; it’s nice to have something that can be just as quick.

myrecipes.com

myrecipes.com

5) Fruit

Uh… I don’t think this one needs much explanation, but don’t think it’s not just as important. I can’t tell you how many times I’m about to run out the door when my stomach growls and I stare at the kitchen looking for inspiration. My savior? A peach, or banana, or apple, or pear…. Anything that’s easy to grab and go, I’m all for. For fruits that aren’t so easy, just make sure to have some prepped before hand. When it’s berry season, I like to have a huge bowl of strawberries, tops cut off, to add to smoothies, top a salad, for on the road, etc. Same with pineapple, oranges, or any other fruit that needs some preparation.

fanpop.com

fanpop.com

If you’ve noticed, each snack tends to take a bit of preparation. But I’m always so thankful that I’ve put in the time to have these healthy snacks ready when I need something quick. Just find a day when you have 30-60 minutes, and get your kitchen all set for the rest of the week. You’ll be just as glad as I am when you end up reaching for a cup of strawberries and a hardboiled egg instead of some nasty chemical concoction.

By the way, most of you know that I’ve been Paleo for a few months now and that I’m working to lose weight for my wedding… well I’ve hit a bit of a plateau (lost 13lbs so far!) and I decided that the biggest push I’m going to get is from sharing even more, so…. now on Fridays I will not only be sharing tips and tricks that I’ve discovered, but … I will also share my weight…………..

OH MY GOSH!… what have I done…. lol.

and maybe a picture… that one still really scares.

So … here goes.

I started at 170lbs. I am now at 157. My goal is between 130-140.

Phew, ok. Not so bad. 😛

Do you have a weight loss goal? Do you have any tips  and tricks? I would love to hear about your journey!

Love!

